travel


torihachi tabi (birdbee travel)

copyright © Ed Beals 2010

Bookmark and Share
It is possible that my kanji is way off here, but I think bird is tori, bee is hachi, and travel is tabi. I like the sound of torihachi for birdbee. Of course it is always unwise to include fragments of a language you don’t speak in your art. Think of all those botched kanji tattoos! I humbly await correction.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “travel”

  1. travel (redux) « birdbee blog Says:

    […] is my revised version of the travel drawing posted on June 16th. Thanks to “jenlit81″ for all the help with my kanji and katakana! […]

  2. Holly Hammett-Vaughan Says:

    My sister had a friend who traveled to China and brought,as a souvenir for her, a stack of paper napkins upon which was written (in English) `Have A! Have A! Have A!`.

    H

  3. birdbee Says:

    This is what I love about the Internet. I posted a question on line and within a few hours I had my answers. What follows is quoted from a series of messages between myself and jenlit81:

    jenlit81:
    雀蜂 (lit: “sparrow bee”, read “suzumebachi”) is what hornets are called, so oddly enough I think it works as a sort of play on words. I would read it “toribachi” not “torihachi”, although either is probably possible as a reading for a name. You could even put little katakana next to it for furigana: バード・ビー

    (an example of vertical writing with furigana to the right of the kanji: http://blogimg.goo.ne.jp/user_image/6b/9f/19c011765a7d69b1e5fe49632f1336e3.png )

    If you mean it to say “the journey/travels of ‘birdbee'”, it should read 鳥蜂の旅 (toribachi no tabi) though.

    Is that your handwriting on the picture, or a font? If it’s your handwriting it’s impressive!

    me:
    Thanks for the feedback! It is much appreciated.
    I like “toribachi” even better, as it carries the “b” sound over from the English “birdbee”.
    So, if I understand you, “toribachi no tabi” could be written vertically:



    And the katakana ( バード・ビー ) be smaller characters, also arranged vertically to the right:






    Yes, the calligraphy in the cartoon is my own attempt to simulate the brush strokes.

    jenlit81:
    In vertical writing the ー also becomes vertical so it would be something like




    (baado = bird, ideally in small enough letters that it fits next to 鳥)


    (bii = bee, again, next to 蜂)

    These are standard katakana transcriptions of the English “bird” and “bee”.

    me:
    Ahh, I see what you mean! That is very helpful!

    Yes, I did look up the stroke order. I’m glad to hear that I managed to do a good job with the forms. It’s funny to hear that because my handwriting in English is quite messy. I suppose it is because I was being so careful in my attempt to get everything just right.

    Thanks for all your help. I will use your suggestions in my drawing.

Leave a Reply

